FuturArc Prize 2023: Hong Kong’s Past Champion Returns

FuturArc Prize 2023: Hong Kong’s Past Champion Returns

3 JULY 2023 – On Friday, 30 June 2023, a Third Place award of FuturArc Prize (FAP) was presented at the gala event of BCI Asia Awards in Kerry Hotel Hong Kong.

The multidisciplinary team of professionals led by Alvin Kung, comprising Jonathan So, Zachary Wong and Dicken Poon, was presented with a cash prize of SGD2,000, certificates and 1-year subscription to FuturArc digital magazine. This award marks a return for Kung, who had been awarded back in the 2010 cycle of FAP as the champion of the Student category.

Held with the theme of Cross-Generational Architecture, FAP 2023 is an international Green design competition that explored the rapid change of societal compositions throughout Asia. The theme asked entrants, comprising architecture professionals and students alike, to envision sustainable design solutions for future generations amidst ongoing climate and planetary challenges.

Set in the high-density context of Hong Kong, the team proposed the Transitional Scaffolding System for Urban Empowerment and Regeneration, which is an extension of team member Jonathan So’s research and design project. The manifesto aims to address the issue of double-aging as well as promote well-being for communities across age groups.

The entry will be featured along with other winning and Merit proposals in the 3rd Quarter (September) issue of the FuturArc print magazine.

Watch video: Announcing FuturArc Prize 2023 Winners and Merit Recipients

Related stories:

FuturArc Prize 2023: First Place Winner and Merits from Indonesia Revealed

FuturArc Prize 2023: Winners awarded in Vietnam

FuturArc Prize 2023: Philippines Merit Recipient Awarded

FuturArc Prize 2023: Malaysia’s Merit Recipient Awarded