FuturArc Prize 2017

2017 / Completed

FuturArc Prize 2017

FuturArc Prize 2017 was back for its ninth year. Held from September to December 2016, the competition attracted participants who were keen to showcase forward-thinking, innovative ideas and solutions for a more sustainable future.

Specially designed FuturArc Prize trophies and cash prizes will be given out to the winners at BCI Asia Awards ceremonies held across the region in May and June 2017. This year, FuturArc Prize has the support of Interface as Platinum Sponsor.

Jury | FuturArc Prize 2017

Dr Nirmal KISHNANI (Singapore), PhD, is Chief Editor of the FuturArc Journal and resident Jury Chair of FuturArc competitions. He is an advocate, educator and practitioner in the field of Green building design, presently with the Department of Architecture at the National University of Singapore where he holds the appointment of Assistant Dean and Programme Director. He has lectured and written widely on the subject of Greening process. Since 2002 – when he founded one of the first dedicated Green design consultancy operating in Asia – he has been involved in landmark projects in the region including the Asian Development Bank, Manila, and Gardens by the Bay, Singapore.

Dr Kishnani sits on several advisory panels in Southeast Asia; he is active in the development of policy instruments and capacity building in the Green building sector. Dr Kishnani is author of the 2012 FuturArc publication, Greening Asia – Emerging Principles for Sustainable Architecture.
Ar Miguel GUERRERO (Philippines), FUAP, APEC Architect, ASEAN Architect, AssocAIA, GreenAP, is the Managing Partner of Asian Architects, a firm established in 1986, that continues to deliver institutional and hospitality buildings and strives to harness appropriate technology to arrive at climate-sensitive, innovative and sustainable design solutions.

A passionate advocate of sustainability, he is the Chairman of the Green Architecture Advocacy Philippines, a civic non-profit organisation that promotes sustainability for all. He is a Fellow of the United Architects of the Philippines, one of the first 12 APEC Architects and one of the first 40 ASEAN Architects of the Philippines. A resource person and mentor, he generously shares his knowledge and experience of professionalism and sustainability with others, with the hope of making the world a better place to live in.
blankDr Jalel SAGER (California), postdoctoral scholar and lecturer, Energy and Resources Group; Director, California Renewable and Adaptive Energy (CAL-RAE); Director, New Sun Road, Inc., teaches courses on ecological economics and microgrids at the Energy and Resources Group (ERG) at UC-Berkeley. He currently performs research on energy planning and development for a joint Berkeley-Harvard project (LMPPI). Dr Sager’s work focuses on historical and institutional relationships between energy and political economic systems. In 2012, he co-founded the Southeast Asia-Renewable and Adaptive Energy (SEA-RAE) network at Berkeley for microgrid research and implementation. In 2014, he founded New Sun Road, which develops renewable microgrid technologies. In 2007, he founded the Vietnam Green Building Council (VGBC), now the nation’s leading Green building organisation, serving as its executive director until 2009, when FuturArc magazine profiled him as one of Asia’s top 20 positive influences in the building sector.

Dr Sager received his PhD from ERG in 2015, an ERG Masters’ degree in 2011 and an undergraduate degree from New York University’s Gal-latin School. He has received the US National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship; a US Foreign Language and Area Studies fellowship; and a National Merit scholarship.
blankMilinda PATHIRAJA (Sri Lanka) is a co-founder of the Colombo firm RAW (Robust Architecture Workshop), an Honorary Senior Fellow in the Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning at the University of Melbourne, and a senior lecturer at the University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka.

A PhD graduate in architectural design at the University of Melbourne, he received the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) President’s Award for Outstanding PhD Thesis and the CIOB Australasia Excellent Building Postgraduate (Research) Award in 2011, the University of Melbourne Chancellor’s Prize for PhD in 2012, and the Australian Alumni Excellence Award for Education in 2014.

His practice RAW won the 2015 Global Silver Award for Sustainable Construction from the Lafarge-Holcim Foundation (Switzerland), and the 2016 Terra Award for earthen architectures (France) under the category of cultural facilities. He was also one of the 88 architects profiled at the international section of the 2016 Venice Biennale for Architecture.
blankSuhasini AYER – GUIGAN (India) is a graduate of Delhi School of Planning and Architecture and has been living in Auroville since 1985. She is the co-founder of the Auroville Centre for Scientific Research, an organisation dedicated to research and experimentation in the field of appropriate building materials and technologies; water management; renewable energy and solar passive/climatic architecture; and sustainable urban planning. She is also the principal architect at the Auroville Design Consultants.